After “failing” in my attempt to ride from London to Rome for the price of a Ryanair flight I’d like to have another go at the extreme budget challenge and so this trip was born.

I’m planning on flying to Lanzarote and from there riding to the top of the highest peak on the island, then moving on by ferry to Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria and finally Tenerife, taking on the climbs each island has to offer.

I’m expecting to spend a day riding each island and given that my London-Rome bike cost me only £4.20 I’ll be able to set a very tight budget. A quick googling shows the cost of a canary is somewhere in the £15-25 range and so I think that will be my budget for the journey. I’ll have to exclude the transport costs (flight and ferries) but otherwise that will have to buy me a bike, repair and adapt it for the trip then feed and shelter me for the four days.

So, here we go again…

Leave a comment